Online Resources

Have your library card and PIN handy, most of these resources require one or both to sign in outside of the library and/or create an account.  You may also want to see our list of online learning resources aimed at kindergarten-elementary school kids, middle through high schoolers, college students, and adult learners.

Academic Search Premier

Full-text journals and other resources that cover a wide variety of academic fields. 
Good for: Academics

Adult Learning Center

Supports lifelong learning for work, a return to school, or just for learning's sake.  Includes practice test center (includes GED and citizenship test help), skills building, a writing lab, and live online tutors.

Alt HealthWatch

Complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness.

Ancestry

Genealogical and historical resources.  Learn how to use this resource. This resource is available only in the library.

Archive Grid

Where to locate primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.
Good for: Academics, genealogy, primary sources

Article First

Indexed tables of contents for thousands of journals. Full-text articles are not available.

AskMN

An online service for information and research help available to all Minnesota residents and students 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Biography in Context

Biographical information on hundreds of thousands of notable people, with full-text articles, pictures, and video from a variety of reliable sources.
Good for: Academics, middle- and high school students

BookFLIX

Online eBooks that introduce children to a love of reading and learning by pairing classic video storybooks and related nonfiction titles in English and Spanish. 

Britannica Online

Encyclopedia plus dictionary and thesaurus, magazines, and articles.  Please see below for the editions.

Academic Edition

High School

Middle School

Elementary School

Pre-School

Business Source Premier

Full-text articles and more from scholarly journals and business periodicals plus economic data, company profiles, market research, and business periodicals.
Good for: Academics, consumers, business

Camio

The Catalog of Art Museum Images Online documents works of art from around the world.
Good for: Academics, primary sources

Carver County Newspaper Index

Indexed by the Carver County Historical Society Library. The Young America Eagle is fully indexed. The Waconia Patriot is indexed to 1994. The Chaska Herald is indexed to 1940. Please contact the society for articles.
Good for: History, genealogy

Chilton Auto Repair (Chilton Library)

Available inside and out of the library, Chilton online auto repair manuals have video, picture and text help for both at-home and professional mechanics.  They cover most makes and models from 1901 to present.

Using Chilton?  Please take our survey when you're done!  It will open in a new tab for you to fill in later.

Clase Periodica

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities (full text is not available).

Cloud Library eBooks and eAudiobooks

Check out up to five titles at a time in eBook or eAudio.  They can be checked out for up to three weeks.  You can also place holds on titles.  You may wish to see the Quickstart Guide.

Consumer Health Complete

The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.   Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Good for: Consumers

Consumer Reports

Full content of Consumer Reports magazine, with unbiased reviews and ratings of products.  You can search by keyword or select specific issues.
Good for: Consumers

Ebooks Minnesota

Read local!  Minnesota's digital library has books for all ages that don't have a due date and you can check out as many as you wish.  For more information, see the Quickstart Guide.

EBSCO Megafile

Combined academic, business, health, science, and consumer information.

Educator's Reference Complete

Multiple levels of education from preschool through college.
Good for: K-12 teachers, administrators, and undergraduate or graduate students in education

Electronic Books Catalog

Catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide.

Electronic Collections Online

Collection of scholarly journals.

ELM Portal

All of the Electronic Library for Minnesota online resources: arts & humanities, biographies, business, consumer information, eBooks, education, health and medicine, hobbies, science, social science, and etc.

ERIC

Education literature and resources.
Good for: Educators, academics, students

Expanded Academic ASAP

Balanced coverage of every academic concentration, combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
Good for: Educators, academics, students

Explora

Primary source documents, lesson ideas, reference materials, and multimedia.
Good for: Elementary, middle- and high school educators

Explora Kids

Magazine and journal articles, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images.
Good for: Elementary school students

Explora Teens

Magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles, primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Good for: Middle- and high school students

General Science Collection

Scholarly journals and popular magazines across all science-related subject areas for all ages.

GPO Monthly Catalog

U.S. Government publications.
Good for: Consumers

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Consumer health information health magazines, pamphlets, and reference books.  Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Good for: Consumers

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Articles from scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.  Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Good for: Nursing students, academics, consumers

Homework Rescue

Live, online homework help from a expert tutors, available from 1-11 PM, 7 days a week, with help in English and in Spanish.
Good for: Students grades 3-12, parents

Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Good for: library professionals, library science students

Informe

Full-text articles in English and Spanish from such popular magazines as Latina, Actual, and Siempre!

InfoTrac Student Edition

Indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books about current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Good for: High school students

JobNow!

One-stop online job coach including resume review.
Good for: Job seekers

Junior Reference Collection

Biography, science, social science, information on authors, state and country data, plus encyclopedias and more reference sources.
Good for: Middle and high school students, primary documents

Kids InfoBits

Information about current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Good for: Elementary school students

Learning Express

Instant access to a comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources.

Lexis

Lexis contains Minnesota legal information plus Supreme Court cases, USCS, Federal Court Rules, and Shepard’s Citator.  This resource is available only in the Law Library.

Literature Resource Center

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Good for: middle school, high school, and college students; book clubs

Lynda.com

Easy-to-use video tutorials to help you learn software, technical, creative and business skills.  See the How to use Lynda.com for more information.

MAS Ultra – School Edition

Full text for more than 500 popular high school level magazines and reference books about history, biography, science, and more. Includes maps, flags, and photos.
Good for: High school students, primary sources

MasterFILE Premier

Read full text articles from more than 1,900 popular and general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals, including Consumer Reports.
Good for: General research at all levels

Medline

Index to articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Good for: Consumers, medical professionals and students

Middle Search Plus

A tool designed for middle school students looking for research/homework resources, includes primary documents, reference tools, magazine indexes and more.
Good for: Middle school students

Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS)

Where to check the criminal, civil, family, probate, and judgment records from many counties in Minnesota including Carver.  This resource is available only in the Law Library.

Minnesota Trial Court Public Access Remote

The public-view version of the Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS), the computerized case management system used by Minnesota District Courts to track and manage cases.   Please note: Courthouse public access terminals provide the most complete access to electronic district court case records.

MN Reads MN Writes

Local authors (indie, self-published, aspiring, and mainstream) can create eBooks and share them with readers across the state and country using these free tools.

MNLINK Gateway

You can request items not in the Carver County Library that are over a year old (i.e. Interlibrary Loan).  If they're less than a year old, please request them from us.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks; financial information on thousands of mutual funds, including the Morningstar star rating.
Good for: Investors, students

NewsBank Newspapers

Get full-text content of local and regional newspapers: Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, St. Cloud Times, and the Duluth News Tribune newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded. This resource is available only in the library.

Novelist K-8 Plus

Fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.
Good for: Elementary and middle-school students

Novelist Plus

Search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
Good for: Students, book clubs

OAISter

Catalog of digital resources.

Overdrive eBooks

Check out up to five titles at a time from popular and classic titles.  They can be checked out for up to three weeks and you can renew them if no one is waiting.    You can also place holds on titles.  You may wish to check our Quickstart Guide first.  You must have a valid Carver County library card use Overdrive.

Papers First

Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

Points of View Reference Center

Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issues.
Good for: High school and college students

Primary Search

Full text for more than 70 popular elementary school magazines about history, biography, science, and more. Includes primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags.
Good for: Elementary school students

Proceedings First

An index of worldwide conference proceedings.

Professional Development Collection

Full text for nearly 520 high quality education journals and 200 educational reports.
Good for: Education professionals

ProQuest Newsstand Complete

Full-text articles of over 350 newspapers. Includes historical New York Times (1851-2004).

RB Digital eAudiobooks (formerly OneClickDigital)

You can check out up to ten eAudiobook titles at a time for up to three weeks.  Holds can be placed, too.  Anyone with a valid library card registered in Carver County can check out titles from this collection.  If you don't have an account for RB Digital (or OneClickDigital or Zinio) you must create one on their website before downloading the app.

 RB Digital eMagazines (formerly Zinio)

You can check out as many titles as you want and you never have to return them plus sign up for alerts when new issues are added.  Anyone with a valid library card registered in Carver County can check out from this collection.  See above for more information about creating an RB Digital account).  If you don't have an account for RB Digital (or OneClickDigital or Zinio) you must create one on their website before downloading the app.

Reference USA

Custom searches that provide detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. public and private businesses and 102 million U.S. residents.
Good for: Job seekers, consumers, researchers

Regional Business News

Articles from over 50 regional business publication, select national and international newspapers and news transcripts.
Good for: Job seekers, consumers

Research in Context

In-depth reference content for school curriculum area of literature, history, biography, science, and social studies.
Good for: Students, teachers, academics

Science Reference Center

Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Good for: Students, educators, librarians

smARTpass

Use your library card to access free or discounted passes to Twin Cities arts and cultural organizations.

Star Tribune, Historical (1867-1922)

Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Good for: Students, genealogy, primary sources

Student Resource in Context

Thousands of full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia major subject areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more.
Good for: Students, teachers, parents

Transparent Language

A language learning system that uses flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases.
Good for: Travelers, students. Works best in Firefox or Internet Explorer.

WorldCat

A worldwide catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member libraries.
Good for: Finding out where books are

World Almanac/Book of Facts

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.

What is the difference between a library online resource and a website?

A library online resource contains articles and other information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. Although these resources are delivered via the Web and sometimes look like websites, they contain reliable information from thousands of resources that are not often found by Googling.

You will need your library card and a PIN to sign on. Most databases are available to all Minnesota patrons with cards registered in Carver County.