Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 

 Family and Child Programs at the Library

 

Fotolia_20060439_XS.jpgThe Library has a variety of fun and educational events for families. We welcome all families to visit us for a storytime, art activity or other program at their local branch. Family events are a great opportunity for families to meet new friends, schedule play dates for children and mingle with other parents.

Please visit the full library calendar for a complete listing of events, locations and details. The following events are a few of our most favorite family programs.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Lapsit Storytime
      
For children from birth to 18 months. Babies and their caregivers share quality time in a 20-minute session designed to encourage language development through sharing board books and movement activities, followed by time for visiting and play. 
Call to register.


Toddler Storytime    
For children ages 18 months to 3. Toddlers and their caregivers are welcome to join us for 20 minutes of action-packed fun with stories, rhymes, fingerplays, and musical movement for this busy age group. Come shake your sillies out with us! No registration required.

 
Preschool Storytime           
For children ages 3 to 6. Children and their caregivers are invited to come and share 30 minutes of stories, music and movement that encourages the development of early literacy skills. No registration required.
 
Family Storytime    
For all ages, with a focus on children age 2 and up. Children, parents and their caregivers are invited to come and share 30 minutes of stories, music and movement that encourages the development of early literacy skills. No registration required.   
 
TAILS FOR READING
School Age children are welcome to read books aloud to therapy dogs to encourage confidence in reading. Please call or stop by the library to sign up for 15-minute reading sessions.
 
Sensitive Storytime
Sensitive storytimes are geared for children who have a challenging time in large groups, are on the autism spectrum, and/or are susceptible to sensory overload. Preschool-level books, songs and movement are used during sensitive storytimes If you have any questions, please contact Kristen Jones at kjones@co.carver.mn.us.
Please note that these storytimes are not appropriate for daycares to attend as groups.
Waconia Library: Mondays, June 13, June 27, July 11, July 25.
 
Summer Reading Programs for PreK and Up

Little Hands: Alphabet book
Ages 3 to 5. Registration required.
Students will create an alphabet book by drawing, painting, printmaking, and mixed-media process.
Watertown Library: Thursday, June 2, 11:00-12:00 pm
 
Barnyard Beat with Dairy Princess
Put on your boots for some barnyard fun with a Carver County Dairy Association Princess! Be sure to bring your camera for pictures with the princess after the program!
Chanhassen Library: Wednesday, June 29, 10:30 am
Norwood Young America Library: Tuesday, August 2, 11:00 am
Victoria Library: Monday, July 18, 10:30 am
Waconia Library: Tuesday, July 26, 10:30 am
Watertown Library: Monday, June 20, 6:30 pm

Eat! Grow! Go!


Get moving and grooving with stories and music while you learn about gardening and healthy foods with craft activities to follow. Ideas for healthy living will be provided by Carver County Public Health. Program supported by the Statewide Health Improvement Program, Minnesota Department of Health.
Chanhassen Library: Wednesday, June 22, 10:30 am
Chaska Library: Friday, July 29, 10:30 am
Norwood Young America Library: Tuesday, July 12, 11:00 am
Victoria Library: Monday, June 27, 10:30 am
Waconia Library: Tuesday, August 2, 10:30 am
Watertown Library: Thursday, July 21, 11:00 am

Dinosaur Roar!


Stomp and ROAR like a dinosaur then sift through the sands of time while learning about these amazing creatures from millions of years ago!
Chanhassen Library: Wednesday, July 20, 10:30 am
Chaska Library: Friday, July 15, 10:30 am
Norwood Young America Library: Tuesday, June 28, 11:00 am
Victoria Library: Monday, August 1, 10:30 am
Waconia Library: Tuesday, June 14, 10:30 am
Watertown Library: Thursday, July 7, 11:00 am

Around the World with Music!


Get ready to hear some great stories, make crafts, and make music!
Chanhassen Library: Wednesday, August 3, 10:30 am
Chaska Library: Friday, August 12, 10:30 am
Norwood Young America Library: Tuesday, July 26, 11:00 am
Victoria Library: Monday, June 13, 10:30 am
Waconia Library: Tuesday, July 19, 10:30 am
Watertown Library: Thursday, July 14, 11:00 am

Maisy's Summer Fun
Maisy has a busy summer swimming, camping, going to the fair and more! Join us for a 30 minute storytime with craft activities to follow!
Chaska Library: Friday, June 17, 10:30 am
Norwood Young America Library: Tuesday, June 14, 11:00 am
Victoria Library: Monday, July 11, 10:30 am
Waconia Library: Tuesday, JUne 28, 10:30 am
Watertown Library: Thursday, June 23, 11:00 am