Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 

 Databases

 


ZINIO- eMagazines for your computer, smartphone, and tablet!

List of 2015 Zinio titles

How to use Zinio eMagazines

Watch a video about how to use Zinio eMagazines or Zinio on your iPad

Connect to Zinio

 

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A LIBRARY ONLINE RESOURCE AND A WEBSITE?
A library online resource contains articles and other information from print sources such as magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books. Although these resources are delivered via the Web and sometimes look like websites, they contain reliable information from thousands of resources that are not often found by Googling.

You will need your library card and a PIN to sign on. Most databases are available to all Minnesota patrons with cards registered in Carver County.

ELM Portal
This link provides access to all of the ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) databases from one convenient page. Subject areas include: arts & humanities, biographies, business, consumer information, eBooks, education, health and medicine, hobbies, science, social science, and other areas.

Academic Search Premier

Full-text journals and other resources that cover a wide variety of academic fields
Good for: Academics

Alldata
Car repair information and safety information for cars, vans, and trucks 1982-present
This resource is available only in the library.

Alt HealthWatch
Complementary, alternative, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness

Ancestry
How to use this resource
Genealogical and historical resources
This resource is available only in the library.

Archive Grid
Where to locate primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historiacl societies
Good for: Academics, genealogy, primary sources

Article First
Indexed tables of contents for thousands of journals.
Full-text articles are not available.

Biography in Context 
How to use this resource
Biographical information on hundreds of thousands of notable people, with full-text articles, pictures, and video from a variety of reliable sources
Good for: Academics, middle- and high school students

BookFLIX
Online eBooks that introduce children to a love of reading and learning by pairing classic video storybooks and related nonfiction titles in English and Spanish
Also available on children's game computers in the libraries

Britannica Online   
Enclyclopedia plus dictionary and thesaurus, magazines, and articles

Academic Edition

High School

Middle School

Elementary School

Pre-School

Business Source Premier    
Full-text articles and more from scholarly journals and business periodicals plus economic data, company profiles, market research, and business periodicals
Good for: Academics, consumers, business

Camio
The Catalog of Art Museum Images Online documents works of art from around the world
Good for: Academics, primary sources 

Carver County Newspaper Index
Indexed by the Carver County Historical Society Library. The Young America Eagle is fully indexed. The Waconia Patriot is indexed to 1994. The Chaska Herald is indexed to 1940. Please contact the society for articles.
Good for: History, genealogy

Clase Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities (full text is not available)

Consumer Health Complete
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content  
Good for: Consumers 
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

EBSCO Megafile
Combined academic, business, health, science, and consumer information
Good for: everyone

Educator's Reference Complete
How to use this resource
Multiple levels of education from preschool through college
Good for: K-12 teachers, administrators, and undergraduate or graduate students in education

eBooks Minnesota
Online e-book collection of local Minnesota authors and stories.
Access through the website or using free apps from iTunes, Google Play, and Kindle.

Electronic Books
Catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide
Good for: Everyone

Electronic Collections Online
Collection of scholarly journals 

ERIC 
Education literature and resources
Good for: Educators, academics, students

Expanded Academic ASAP
Balanced coverage of every academic concentration, combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images
Good for: Educators, academics, students

Explora
Primary source documents, lesson ideas, reference materials, and multimedia
Good for: Elementary, middle- and high school educators

Explora Kids
Magazine and journal articles, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and images
Good for: Elementary school students

Explora Teens
Magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles, primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia
Good for: Middle- and high school students

General Science Collection
Scholarly journals and popular magazines across all science-related subject areas
Good for: Everyone

GPO MONTHLY CATALOG
U.S. Government publications
Good for: Consumers

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information health magazines, pamphlets, and reference books
Good for: Consumers 
 
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Articles from scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Good for: Nursing students, academics, consumers

Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. 

Homework HelpNow!
LIve, online homework help from a expert tutors, available from 1:00 p.m. – 11:00 p.m., 7 days a week, in English and in Spanish
Good for: Students grades 3-12, parents

Informe
Full-text articles from such popular magazines as Latina, Actual, and Siempre! 
Good for: Spanish speakers

Infotrac Junior Edition
Magazines, newspapers and reference books about current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more
Good for: Junior high and middle school students

InfoTrac Student Edition  
Indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books about current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more
Good for: High school students

JobNow!
One-stop online job coach
Good for: Job seekers

Junior Reference Collection
Nearly 12,000 documents, 8,500 photographs and illustrations, 50 video and audio clips, and reference book content
Good for: Students

Kids InfoBits
Information about current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more
Good for: Elementary school students

Learning Express
Instant access to a comprehensive collection of test preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources.   Good for: kids, teens, and adults

Lexis--Available at the Law Library

Minnesota federal and state appellate cases, Minnesota annotated statutes and bill tracking, Minnesota Rules, Minnesota Register and regulation tracking, Minnesota administrative and agency decisions, Dunnell’s Minnesota Digest, all Minnesota law reviews, Supreme Court cases, USCS, Federal Court Rules, and Shepard’s Citator.
 

Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Good for: library professionals, library science students

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Good for: middle school, high school, and college students; book clubs

Lynda.com
Easy-to-use video tutorials to help you learn software, technical, creative and business skills — anytime, anywhere. Log in with your Carver County Library card, create your profile and you are ready to start learning.  The Library’s contract allows for 35 simultaneous users – if that number is reached, you may be asked to wait until a seat is free to use.


First time using Lynda.com?  Enter your library card number and PIN number. Then enter your first and last name, along with your email (will only have to do that once). The next time you log in, use your library card number and PIN number. (Provided by MELSAHow to use Lynda.com-Online Video Course

MAS Ultra – School Edition 
Full text for more than 500 popular high school level magazines and reference books about history, biography, science, and more. Includes maps, flags, and photos.
Good for: High school students, primary sources 

MasterFILE Premier
Read full text articles from more than 1,900 popular and general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.
Good for: General research at all levels

Medline
Index to articles in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Good for: Consumers, medical professionals and students

Middle Search Plus
Full text for more than 140 popular middle-school magazines and reference books about history, biography, science, and more. Includes primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags  All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). 
Good for: Middle school students, parents

Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS)
Check the criminal, civil, family, probate, and judgment records from many counties in Minnesota including Carver.
This database is only available at county court houses. You may access this database at the Carver County Law Library.

Minnesota Trial Court Public Access Remote
Minnesota District Courts offer an online case inquiry tool for statewide electronic case records. This is a public-view version of the Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS), the computerized case management system used by Minnesota District Courts to track and manage cases. The search results display case information for public viewing, including register of actions, calendars, judgments, and orders and notices prepared by the court.

Please note: Courthouse public access terminals provide the most complete access to electronic district court case records, because they are not restricted by the remote access provisions of the Rules of Public Access

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Comprehensive financial information on New York Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange, and NASDAQ stocks; financial information on thousands of mutual funds, including the Morningstar star rating.
Good for: Investors, students

New York Times - Historical (1851-2004) (via ProQuest)
Digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdfs of articles. Currently, there are over 3,400,000 pages available for the Historical New York Times. Each year one additional year is digitized and added to this resource. Current coverage, 1980 to present, is available in the Proquest Newsstand Complete database.
Good for: Students, genealogy, primary sources

NewsBank Newspapers
Get full-text content of local and regional newspapers: Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, St. Cloud Times, and the Duluth News Tribune newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded. This resources is available inside the library only.

Novelist Plus
Search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more. 
Good for: Students, book clubs 

Novelist K-8 Plus
Fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support the school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.
Good for: Elementary and middle-school students

OneClick Digital  
Access downloadable audio books.

OAI Ster
Catalog of digital resources

Papers First
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide

Points of View Reference Center
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250+ topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument),counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Good for: High school and college students

Primary Search
Full text for more than 70 popular elementary school magazines  about history, biography, science, and more. Includes primary source documents, photos, maps, and flags. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). 
Good for: Elementary school students  

Proceedings First
An index of worldwide conference proceedings

Professional Development Collection
Full text for nearly 520 high quality education journals and 200 educational reports.
Good for: Education professionals

ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Full-text articles of over 350 newspapers. 

Reference USA  
Detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. public and private businesses and 102 million U.S. residents. Searches can be customized to fit several needs.
Good for: Job seekers, consumers, researchers

Regional Business News
Comprehensive full-text articles from over 50 regional business publications. Includes a rotating 30-day backfile for over 25 national and international newspapers and news transcripts.
Good for: Job seekers, consumers 

Research in Context
In-depth reference copntent for school curriculum area of literature, history, biography, science, and social studies
Good for: Students, teachers, academics

Science Reference Center  
Full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Good for: Students, educators, librarians

Star Tribune - Historical (1867-1922)
Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922) full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Good for: Students, genealogy, primary sources

Student Resource Center Gold
Thousands of full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia major subject areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more.
Good for: Students, teachers, parents

Transparent Languages Online with Byki 
Transparent Languages Online is a powerful language learning system that uses flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases.
Features include: language overviews and proficiency tests, "Word of the Day," language blogs, Facebook groups, apps for smartphones and tablets (download and access offline).
Good for: Travelers, students

WorldCat
Worldwide catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member libraries makes this the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
Good for: Finding out where books are

World Almanac/Book of Facts
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. 

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A database of all dissertations and theses available in WorldCat.