Carver County Library Quick Catalog Search


Home | Catalog Search | My Account | Ask a Librarian | Contact Us
Home > Research Tools > Databases > Databases by Title

 



Literature Resource Center 
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
HOW TO USE
remote access to Literature Resource Center

 

NOTE: You must have a library card registered with Carver County Library to access these databases outside the library
Databases (by title)

What's the difference between a library database or online resource and a website?

Academic Search Premier   Lexis
AllData   Literature Resource Center
Ancestry Library Edition   MasterFile Premier
Biography Resource Center   MN Court Information System
Business & Co. Resource Center   MN Trial Court Public Access Remote
Business Source Premier   NetLibrary
Carver Co. Newspaper Index   New Elm Portal
CQ Researcher   New York Times - Historical (1851-2004)
Discovering Collection   NewsBank Newspapers
Educator's Reference Complete   Novelist Plus
Expanded Academic ASAP   Professional Collection
General Science Collection   ProQuest Newsstand Complete
Health & Wellness Resource Center   Reader's Advisor Online
Informe English   ReferenceUSA
Informe Spanish   Regional Business News
InfoTrac Junior Edition   Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
InfoTrac Student Edition   Student Resource Center Gold
Junior Reference Collection   Westlaw
Kids InfoBits   WorldCat
Legal Forms - Thomson Gale    
     

 

New ELM Portal  
This link provides access to all of the ELM (Electronic Library for Minnesota) databases from one convenient page. Subject areas include: arts & humanities, biographies, business, consumer information, e-books, education, health and medicine, hobbies, science, social science and other areas.

Academic Search Premier  
Search for citations to 8,000+ scholarly and professional publications.  It also includes full text articles for more than 4,600 magazines and journals in subjects such as biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and sociology..   Backfiles to 1975 and earlier are available for over one hundred journals. 
remote access to Academic Search Premier

Alldata     
This online Automotive Repair database provides the detailed information you need to tackle both simple and complex auto repair jobs. Do-it-yourselfers can rely on auto repair answers to topics such as, maintenance, troubleshooting, engine performance and tune-up, brakes, emission control, chassis, electrical and more.  Technical service bulletins and recall information is also provided.
By subscription agreement, this resource is available for in-library use only.

Ancestry     
HOW TO USE
Access genealogical and historical resources including the decennial U.S.
census from 1790 to 1930, military , court, land, probate, immigration, birth, marriage, and death records, (including the Social Security Death Index) periodicals and newspapers,  finding aids, and directories.
By subscription agreement, this resource is available for in-library use only.


Biography Resource Center   HOW TO USE
Search for biographical information based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, and gender, or combine criteria to create a custom search. The complete Marquis Who's Who(R) biographies of 900,000 people plus full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals are included.

remote access to Biography Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center   HOW TO USE
Research detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

remote access to Business and Company Resource Center
Business Source Premier (standard search interface)  
Business Source Premier (enhanced search interface)

Over 3200 periodicals are indexed.  Full text articles from over 2700 scholarly journals and business periodicals covering subjects such as management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business are available.   Included are Country Reports with and national and international company profiles.
remote access to Business Source Premier with new interface

Carver County Newspaper Index
Obtained from the files of the Carver County Historical Society Library, articles are indexed by individuals, organizations, businesses, government bodies, and subjects. The Young America Eagle is fully indexed. The Waconia Patriot is indexed to 1994. The Chaska Herald is indexed to 1940.

CQ Researcher
Search this resource for user-friendly access to in-depth, non-biased coverage of today’s most important political and social issues. Each weekly 12,000-word report is on a single topic and includes extensive bibliographies, charts and graphs.  Coverage includes subjects such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
remote access to CQ Researcher

Discovering Collection    HOW TO USE
Use the DISCovering Collection to retrieve in-depth reference content for school curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science, and social studies.
remote access to Discovering Collection

Educator's Reference Complete HOW TO USE
K-12 teachers, administrators and undergraduate or graduate students in education will appreciate the focused and timely resources available within Educator’s Reference Complete. This powerful database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. Also included are resources on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education. Educator's Reference Complete has more than 1,100 periodicals that cover a wide variety of subjects and 200 reports from the United States Department of Education. 
remote access to Discovering Collection

Expanded Academic ASAP HOW TO USE
This premier database offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration — from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies. Combining indexing, abstracts, full text and images, Expanded Academic ASAP delivers answers for both the novice and the experienced researcher — all in one seamless search. Balanced coverage is available through more than 4,200 indexed and more than 2,500 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 2,800 journals are refereed, and more than 20 years of backfile coverage are included with your subscription.
remote access to Discovering Collection

General Science Collection HOW TO USE
General Science Collection consists of over 200 journals encompassing the most popular scientific titles available today. Titles include Scientific American, Archeology, Physics Today, Info Today, Mathematics Magazine and many more. This resource provides researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
remote access to Discovering Collection
Health & Wellness Resource Center  HOW TO USE
Find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on many health-related topics such as fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, alcohol and drug abuse, and prescription drugs. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as to government databases.  
remote access to Health & Wellness Resource Center

Informe (English interface)   HOW TO USE
Specifically designed to meet the research needs of Spanish speaking users, this database has full-text articles from such popular magazines as Latina, Actual, and Siempre!  It also contains articles about cultural and lifestyle issues, health and parenting, entertainment, politics and current events.  Searches can be made in both English and Spanish, with title names shown in both languages, and text in Spanish only.
remote access to Informe

Informe (Spanish interface)  
Diseñadas específicamente para resolver las necesidades de la investigación de utilizadores de habla hispanola. Esta base de datos tiene artículos completos del texto de los compartimientos populares tales como Latina, Actual, y Siempre!. La base de datos contiene muchos artículos sobre los temas tales como ediciones culturales y de la forma de vida, salud y crianza de los niños, la hospitalidad, políticas y sucesos actuales. Las búsquedas se pueden hacer en inglés y español, con los nombres del título mostrados en ambos lenguajes.
remote access to Informe

InfoTrac Junior Edition   HOW TO USE
Designed for students in junior high and middle school, InfoTrac® Junior Edition offers  magazines, newspapers and reference books (most full-text) about current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
remote access to Infotrac Junior Edition

InfoTrac Student Edition     HOW TO USE
Designed for high school students, InfoTrac® Student Edition provides indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, and reference books about current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
remote access to Student Edition

Junior Reference Collection   HOW TO USE
Nearly 12,000 documents, 8,500 photographs and illustrations, 50 video and audio clips, and significant reference book content are included.  Search by subject area–People, Places, Subjects, Authors, Books, and Timeline.  
remote access to Junior Reference Collection

Kids InfoBits   HOW TO USE
Developed for K-5 students, it features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper, and reference content.  Find information about current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
remote access to Kid's InfoBits

Legal Forms - Thomson Gale HOW TO USE Online Video Tour
Minnesota specific, federal, business, personal, real estate and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues are available including power-of-attorney, landlord/tenant, and mechanic's lien. 
The legal forms contained in this database are not a substitute for consulting with an attorney concerning your unique legal matter.

Lexis
The Law Library maintains an online subscription to Lexis, a legal electronic research database. This subscription includes Dunnell's Minnesota Digest, annotated Minnesota Restatement cases, all Minnesota law reviews, Minnesota federal and state cases, Minnesota statutes and bill tracking, Minnesota Rules, Minnesota Register, and regulation tracking, Minnesota administrative and agency decisions, all 8 th Circuit cases, Supreme Court cases, USCS, Public Laws, Federal Rules Annotated, Martindale-Hubbell with U.S. listings and U.S. law digest and full jurisdiction Shepard's.
By subscription agreement, this database is available for use only in the Law Library .

Literature Resource Center
HOW TO USE
Gain access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. This database covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
remote access to Literature Resource Center

MasterFILE Premier  
Read full text articles from more than 1,900 popular and general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. It offers indexing and abstracts for an additional 2,510 periodicals. The database also contains full-text articles from book reviews, reference works, travel books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.
remote access to MasterFILE Search Premier

Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS)
Check the criminal, civil, family, probate, and judgment records from many counties in Minnesota including Carver.
This database is only available at county court houses.  You may access this database at the Carver County Law Library.


Minnesota Trial Court Public Access Remote
Minnesota District Courts offer an online case inquiry tool for statewide electronic case records. This is a public-view version of the Minnesota Court Information System (MNCIS), the computerized case management system used by Minnesota District Courts to track and manage cases. The search results display case information for public viewing, including register of actions, calendars, judgments, and orders and notices prepared by the court. Please note: Courthouse public access terminals provide the most complete access to electronic district court case records, because they are not restricted by the remote access provisions of the Rules of Public Access.

NetLibrary  
Full text of over 5,000 electronic books and 2,500 e-audio books  in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life and physical sciences, business, computers and more. Includes Cliff's Notes.

To borrow an electronic book, you will need to complete a one-time registration process.

  1. Click on remote access.
  2. Click on the "Create a Free Account" link in the upper right corner of the NetLibrary page.
  3. Fill out the form choosing a user name and password.
  4. You now have an account and may search the NetLibrary collection.
  5. To check out your selection, click on “Show Details” and you will have the option of downloading, if an audio book, or viewing or checking out, if a full-text book.

remote access to netLibrary

New York Times - Historical (1851-2004) (via Proquest)
This database provides digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available.  Search the full text and display pdfs of articles. Currently, there are over 3,400,000 pages available for the Historical New York Times. Each year one additional year is digitized and added to this resource. Current coverage, 1980 to present, is available in the Proquest Newsstand Complete database.

To search the Historical New York Times, scroll to the bottom of the Proquest Database page's list of newspapers. Click on the link to the Historical New York Times.
remote access to ProQuest Newsstand Complete

NewsBank Newspapers
Get full-text content of local and regional newspapers: Star Tribune, Pioneer Press, St. Cloud Times, and the Duluth News Tribune newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded. Purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), using state and federal tax money.
remote access to Professional Collection

Novelist Plus melsa
Search hundreds of thousands of popular fiction and nonfiction titles. Find author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides, and more.
remote access to Professional Collection

Professional Collection     HOW TO USE
Educators may access more than 300 full-text journals.  It offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the following areas: arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences, and sports/athletic training..

remote access to Professional Collection

ProQuest Newsstand Complete      HOW TO USE
Read the full-text articles of over 350 newspapers.  Search the latest news from around the world.  Access a wide range of articles – news, arts, sports, and entertainment.
remote access to ProQuest Newsstand Complete

Reader's Advisor Online
Bringing books and readers together, The Reader’s Advisor Online is an easy and effective way fo readers looking for something new to read. Identify books you will enjoy with this database. (Remote access available soon.)
remote access

Reference USA  
HOW TO USE
Look up detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. public and private businesses and 102 million U.S. residents. This database can be searched on a national scale, or can be limited by state, county, metropolitan area, city, company name, company size, yellow page heading, or SIC code.  Searches can also be narrowed to retrieve only headquarters or subsidiaries for companies.
remote access


Regional Business News   
Updated daily, this news database provides comprehensive full text articles from over 50 regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). It also includes a rotating 30-day backfile for over 25 national and international newspapers and news transcripts.
remote access to Regional Business News

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage  
Including ten industry-leading S&P finance publications, this database is used to locate current, comprehensive information on U.S. public and private companies. The following S&P publications are included: Bond Guide Mutual Fund Reports, Corporation Records, The Outlook, Dividend Record Register of Corporations, Earnings Guide Stock Guide, and Industry Surveys Stock Reports.
remote access to What Do I Read Next

Student Resource Center Gold HOW TO USE
Offering easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards this database covers the major subject areas, including history, literature, science, social studies and more, Student Resource Center provides a premium selection of reference, thousands of full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary documents, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips and podcasts. Users are able to access a variety of resources that will help them conduct research, complete assignments, create presentations and more, with content and curriculum-focused tools that include but are not limited to: Read Speaker auditory articles, more than eight million full-text articles from one thousand periodicals and newspapers, more than 4,000 proprietary primary documents, hundreds of plays and poems, more than 63,000 topic overviews, biographies, and pieces of literary criticism, and more 1,700 study guide questions.

remote access to What Do I Read Next

Westlaw
The Law Library maintains an online subscription to WestLaw, a legal electronic research database. This subscription includes case law from all 50 states and the federal appellate courts, all federal and state statutes and regulations, journals and law reviews, and state and federal practice materials.
By subscription agreement, this database is available for use only in the Law Library.


WorldCat 
Need to see if somebody, somewhere in the world owns a particular book? This is your source! 
WorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member libraries. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing institutions, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind.
remote access to WorldCat

Authors4Teens
(testing area)

remote access to WorldCat


To access databases from outside of the library, click on remote accessbeneath the description.

 

This database is provided for your use by the Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM), a state-funded, MINITEX-administered program.

This database is purchased by the Metropolitan Library Service Agency (MELSA), using state and federal tax money.


Home | Catalog Search | Your Library | Hours & Locations | Research Tools | Books, Movies, Music | Kids | Teens
Law Library | Calendar of Events | My Account | Ask a Librarian | Contact Us | Carver County Website

Copyright 2006 Carver County Library